Job Interview

Martin Hash

Job Interview

Post by Martin Hash » Tue Jan 09, 2018 9:17 am

When I was 10-years old, I wanted to move to Seattle because of the tv show, “Here Come The Brides,” where teenage heartthrob Bobby Sherman sang the evocative line from the titular song, “All the trees are green as green, in Seattle.” From what I could tell, in Seattle all the men were manly and all the women were beautiful, and I was going to move there. Even now, given a chance, I'll bust out singing that song, to the chagrin of everyone around me.
Here Comes The Brides.jpg
When I graduated from college with an engineering degree, the big companies used to come on campus and interview the top of the class. I'd gotten a job offer from Texas Instruments, one of the best tech companies at the time, and a favorite of mine, but Hewlett Packard was the crown jewel of engineering companies, and when they offered to fly me to any division I wanted for an interview, there was no question I'd go. There was a list of available openings, and I searched hopefully for one in Seattle, but alas, there are no HP divisions in Seattle, but there was an opening in “Vancouver.” I seemed to remember that Vancouver was somewhere near Seattle, and I'd live in Canada if I had to just to be near Seattle, so I didn't even check any of the other boxes: it was Vancouver or bust.