Stella

Martin Hash

Stella

Post by Martin Hash » Thu Nov 02, 2023 12:13 pm

When I graduated from high school, I went to the record store and bought several posters that I liked. I’m hazy now what they all were of but I know I had the famous picture of Hitler admiring the first VW “bug” & a fantasy poster of a beautiful, long blond haired, delicate-featured young woman kneeling under a tree, a vision of enchantment. I brought it because when I was 14, I dreamed about the girl I was going to marry who looked like that. I took the posters to college with me to adorn my dorm room.

One day in the school’s Student Union building, I saw a stunning real version of the woman in the poster and made her my wife and the mother of our children, Gwynne. As miraculous as that was, I gave away the posters to my best friend, Steve, when I got married and moved away. I figured maybe he’d be able to repeat my luck? Unfortunately Steve died young and the poster was lost.